20 Top-Notch Nursing Professors in Ohio

20 Top-Notch Nursing Professors in Ohio

Top Nursing Professors Campus and Ohio Online Colleges

One of Ohio’s hottest professions, nursing is expected to grow nearly 30% in the state from 2010 – 2020 (Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2012). As a results, nursing schools across the state continue to prepare students for rewarding careers as licensed vocational nurses (LVNs), registered nurses (RNs), pediatric nurse practitioners (PNPs), and more.

Yet the quality of Ohio’s nursing schools rests largely on its award-winning faculties. Ohio University and Case Western Reserve University, among others, boast hundreds of renowned nursing educators and researchers who excel in the classroom, in the lab, and in the community. While deciding on just 25 proved more-than-difficult, these nursing professors definitely deserve special recognition.

Professor School Bio Photo
Carol Kelley Case Western Reserve University

Dr. Kelley recently won the ELNEC-Core Award from the End-of-Life Nursing Education Consortium of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. She earned her PhD from the university where she now teaches.

Deborah Steward Ohio State University

Dr. Steward has been given the Ohio State University 2012 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching. Her main research interest is in preterm infants born prior to 30 weeks of gestation.

Elizabeth Madigan Case Western Reserve University

Dr. Madigan has been named the Independence Foundation Professor in Nursing Education. She received her PhD from Case Western Reserve University.

Faye Gary Case Western Reserve University

Dr. Gary has been awarded the Association of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Nurses Division Award from the International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses. She has also been recognized by the National Black Nurses Association with a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Gordon Gillespie University of Cincinnati

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation has named Dr. Gillespie a Nurse Faculty Scholar. Along with the title, the award includes a $350,000 grant to study the resilience of emergency department workers.

Karen Hoblet University of Toledo

Professor Hoblet was selected by a panel of students to receive a 2012 Student Impact Award. She is an assistant professor in the Nursing department, specializing in nursing administration.

Kimberly Arcoleo Ohio State University

Dr. Arcoleo has been elected to serve on the editorial board of the Journal of Asthma. She is only the second member of a college of nursing to serve, and is also the director of the Center for Promoting Health in Infants, Children, Adolescents and Women.

Linda Pierce University of Toledo

Dr. Pierce was recognized by the Association of Rehabilitation Nurses with their highest award, the Distinguished Service Award. She has been excelling in her field at the University of Toledo for more than twenty years.

Margaret Graham Ohio State University

Dr. Graham recently received the 2013 American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Ohio State Award for Excellence. She is an expert nurse practitioner.

Mark Klimek Cedarville University

Professor Klimek was presented with the Cedarville University Faculty Teaching Effectiveness Award. He has been at Cedarville for 20 years.

Mary Quinn Griffin Case Western Reserve University

Dr. Quinn Griffin was recently inducted into the National League for Nursing 2012 Academy of Nursing Education Fellows. She received a Masters of Educational Management from Dublin University and her PhD from Case Western Reserve University.

Melissa Popovich Franklin University

Professor Popovich recently earned the title Certified Nurse Educator. She began her professional career at a children’s hospital and progressed to adult emergency medicine, before beginning to teach.

Nicole Pennington Ohio University

Dr. Pennington has been named a Regional Higher Education Outstanding Professor for the 2011-12 academic year. She received her doctorate from Chatham University in 2011.

Patricia Keane Otterbein University

Dr. Keane was recently awarded a grant from the Health Resources and Services Administration for her project, Advanced Education Nursing Traineeship. She is the director of graduate studies at Otterbein University.

Polly Mazanec Case Western Reserve University

Dr. Mazanec recently received the 2013 ONS Mary Nowotny Excellence in Cancer Nursing Education Award. Her research interests include oncology, long-distance caregiving, and palliative care.

Richard H. Carmona Ohio State University

Dr. Carmona served as the 17th United States Surgeon General. He has recently been appointed as the Ohio State College of Nursing Dean’s Distinguished Professor of Health Promotion and Entrepreneurship.

Sharon Christman Cedarville University

Dr. Christman was recently honored with the Cedarville University Faculty Scholar of the Year Award. In 2003 she earned her PhD from the Ohio State University.

Susan Sochacki University of Toledo

Dr. Sochacki received the 2012 University of Toledo Outstanding Teacher Award. She holds a PhD in Higher Education Administration from Bowling Green State University, and specializes in Adult Health/Gerontologic Nursing.

Susan Taft Kent State University

Dr. Taft earned a Distinguished Teaching Award for her extraordinary effort in the classroom. She teaches leadership, management, and health policy in Nursing.

Timothy F. Landers Ohio State University

Dr. Landers has recently won a $350,000 grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars program. He was one of only 12 educators that received the grant.