Top 22 Education Professors in Ohio

Top 22 Education Professors in Ohio

Education Professor Online Schools in Ohio

The state of Ohio continues to serve as a leader in post-secondary learning, especially in the field of education. In 2012, U.S. News & World Report ranked Ohio State University’s College of Education and Human Ecology among the top 20 education schools in the nation. The University of Cincinnati has received top accolades in education and teaching, as well.

No matter how solid the school or talented the students, it’s the professors that make a program excel. The state of Ohio boasts dozens if not hundreds of post-secondary teachers and researchers with proven success in the classroom and in the community. And while it’s nearly impossible to settle on the “top” or “best” professors in any subject or state, these 22 educators most certainly deserve mention.

Professor School Bio Photo
Carla C. Johnson University of Cincinnati

Carla C. Johnson received the Outstanding Science Teacher Educator of the Year for 2013 by the Association for Science Teacher Education (ASTE). She is an associate professor of science and STEM education at the University of Cincinnati.

Charlene M. Czerniak The University of Toledo

In 2012. Dr. Charlene Czerniak received the Distinguished University Professor Award, the highest award bestowed on faculty. She received her PhD in Science Education from The Ohio State University.

Christine Bhat Ohio University

Dr. Christine Bhat is the recipient of the Distinguished Graduate Faculty Teaching award. She is an experienced counselor educator who focuses her research efforts on cyberbullying.

Donna J. McNierney Youngstown State University

Donna McNierney received a 2012 Distinguished Professor Award for her service to Youngstown State University. She teaches Educational Tenology, Web Design, and Instructional Design in the Department of Educational Foundations, Research, Technology, and Leadership.

Ellen Broido Bowling Green State University

Dr. Ellen Broido recently earned the President’s Award for Collaborative Research and Creative Work for her work with graduate students. Dr. Broido is an associate professor in the Department of Higher Education and Student Affairs at Bowling Green State University.

Gerald O. Thompkins Kent State University

Dr. Gerald Thompkins was honored at the 36th annual Indiana University School of Education Distinguished Alumni Awards. Dr. Thompkins is currently the director of the Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education and Research Center at Kent State University.

James Shiveley Miami University

James Shively recently received the Richard T. Delp Outstanding Faculty Award for his outstanding commitment to students at Miami University where he teaches Social Studies Education.

Jim Rogers University of Akron

Dr. Jim Rogers was honored with a Career Achievement Award from the American Psychological Association. Dr. Rogers was recognized for his leadership and mentorship, as well as his ongoing contributions to suicide prevention.

Lisa Pescara-Kovach The University of Toledo

Dr. Lisa Pescara-Kovach was recently a special guest on The Ohio Channel. She specializes in both traditional bullying and cyberbullying.

Lynn Kline University of Akron

Lynn Kline received the Ohio Association of Teacher Educators Mentor Award. She is an associate professor at the University of Akron College of Education.

Nicholas A. Bowman Bowling Green State University

Nicholas A. Bowman, Ph.D, received the 2012 Promising Scholar/Early Career Award. He specializes in college diversity experiences, religious minority students, measurement of college student outcomes, college rankings and student retention.

Pam Beam Ohio University

Dr. Pam Beam is the recipient of the Undergraduate Faculty Teaching Award. She currently teaches at Gladys W. & David H. Patton College of Education and Human Services at Ohio University.

Peter Mather Ohio University

Dr. Peter Mather recently received a Distinguished Faculty Scholarship and Research Award. He holds a B.A. in Philosophy and a Ph.D in Counseling and Student Personnel Services.

Richard VanVoorhis Youngstown State University

Richard VanVoorhis received a 2012 Distinguished Professor Award for his service to Youngstown State University. He instructs students in the areas of counseling, special education, and school psychology.

Ronald J. Abate Cleveland State University

Dr. Abate was the recipient of the 2012 CSU Distinguished Faculty Award for Service. He has served as an associate professor of educational computing and technology at Cleveland State University since 1988.

Sarah Schoppe-Sullivan The Ohio State University

Dr. Schloppe Sullivan is the recipient of the 2012 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching. She is an associate professor in the College of Education and Human Ecology at The Ohio State University.

Sharon D. Kruse University of Akron

Dr. Kruse assumed the role of chair of the Department of Educational Foundations and Leadership in 2012. She is passionate about discovering how to make schools better places for both teachers and students.

Snejana Slantcheva-Durst The University of Toledo

Dr. Snejana Slantcheva-Durst was one of 25 University of Toldeo professors who received the 2012 Student Impact Award. Dr. Slantcheva-Durst is an assistant professor in the Department of Educational Foundations and Leadership in the Judith Herb College of Education.

Susan Clark University of Akron

Susan Clark was elected president of the Education Law Association, an international source of data on education law. She is a professor of EFL at the University of Akron.

Theodore Kowalski University of Dayton

Theodore Kowalski has been honored with a Distinguished Service Award by the American Association of School Administrators. He is the lead author of “The American School Superintendent: 2010 Decennial Study”.

Thomas Hunt University of Dayton

Thomas Hunt, an education professor and fellow in the University of Dayton’s Center for Catholic Education, has received accolades for his book entitled “The Praeger Handbook of Faith-Based Schools in the United States, K–12″. It has been called “the first current, definitive work on America’s faith-based schools.”

Yegan Pillay Ohio University

Dr. Yegan Pillay is a recent recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Outreach Award. His research interests include racial identity development of racial and ethnic minorities and diversity and social justice issues.